BudgetReno

Good interior design and renovation need not be expensive

A fan of the Artemis

When things are so expensive in Singapore, what else can we do? Ans: Look outside Singapore, and I don’t just mean Malaysia. We were shopping for a ceiling fan for our living room but the usual Fanco types of fan just do not appeal to me. Did some online research and found this Artemis model by Minka Aire, a household name in the US. Cost about US$600 on Amazon US, which is almost double of any Fanco model but I loved the aerodynamically designed Artemis which promises to generate better air circulation than most fan models using less electricity. Minka Aire Artemis The Minka Aire website listed two distributors in Asia, El:Ar and Beacon International, both in HK. So I made a phone call to El:Ar. Excellent service – said they can deliver it to the hotel where my hubby will be checking in to this week, but I have to make payment via wire transfer. Their website is not set up to take online payment at the moment (what a pity). I asked for a discount (gotta be thick-skinned about it!!!!). The customer service followed up immediately with an email, giving me 15% discount off retail price for the Artemis and 10% off the remote control.

Image

The second distributor, Beacon, does not do retail, but they referred me to their Singapore partner Elmark – now, here’s where I start to rant. I didn’t buy from them (not even going to its showroom) because:

1) They are quoting me at least 30% more than what El:Ar in HK is quoting me. For the Artemis Distressed Koa model, Elmark is pricing it at $970 (including the remote control) + $50 for delivery and installation + 7% GST. That’s easily $300 more than what I would have paid in Hong Kong.

2) The service sucks big time. When I asked for discount, they gave me a reply to the sounds of “if you can afford to buy a designer fan why are you still asking for discount…”. Too bad for them they have just lost a valuable customer.

3) I suspect their goods are not authentic, could be replicas or parallel imports. If they are the official dealers, their names would have popped up on Minka Aire’s list of dealers. Also, they use stock photos on their website. If they are the authorised dealers they should have product photos from the original manufacturers. What sloppy work!!!

So, buyers beware of this dubious shop.

Image

This is a dubious shop – STAY AWAY!

If you are interested in other Minka Aire fan models, you can check out this site. According to their review, the Artemis has above average ratings compared to most normal ceiling fans (I guess that includes Fanco). I’m so totally sold!!!! If you are intending to buy from US, I’ll caution you on that as the US has a different voltage standard from Singapore.

Image

 Now I can’t wait to have this fan installed in our living room! I’ll be sure to post lots of photos!

13 comments on “A fan of the Artemis

  1. Pingback: A fan of the Artemis | budgetreno | DIY Solar Water Heater

  2. sam
    August 5, 2014

    Thank you for the very useful info!! I would love to get my hands on one of these beauts after reading your posts!! 🙂 How did the installation go?

    Like

    • budgetreno
      August 5, 2014

      Thank you Sam. Installation went well, we had our electrician do it for us as it was too complicated for me. And Singapore has some rules about getting qualified electricians to install ceiling fans, so no DIY, unfortunately. Am writing up a post about our living room and will feature the Artemis again. Look out for it!

      Like

      • David
        January 19, 2015

        Good Morning, I have been trying to find this model of fan for our apartment in Singapore and almost gave up hope until I found your blog. I have contacted El:ar and await their response. Can you confirm how the installation went? Did you manage to get a 220-240v version of this fan as I have only been able to find 110v motors online? I look forward to your response and I agree it is an awesome looking ceiling fan – definitely set apart from everything else we have seen.

        Like

      • budgetreno
        January 19, 2015

        Hi David, you won’t regret it! We loved every bit of it. Purchasing from El:ar was a bliss. Installation was done by a professional electrician in Singapore. There wasn’t a j-hook that came with the fan because it doesn’t spin as fast as those cheapo ceiling fans, but our electrician (who has never seen or installed an Artemis before) wasn’t sure if the fan can be secured without a j-hook, so he devised one of his own. It’s really not necessary. Yes, our motor is a 220V version bought from El:ar, works with Singapore standards. The only thing I would have done differently is to install the fan without the accompanying light bulb. The bulb given was too dim and there is no way I can fix a bigger and brighter E27 bulb to it. Works out well in the end – the fan remains a fan (without the light) and we bought other types of lighting for the living room.

        Like

      • David Irvine
        January 20, 2015

        HI Budgetreno,

        Thanks very much for the update. I have ordered 3 number units from El:ar for our apartment. I have also been doing some research and Hansen Wholesale in the USA actually make comment that the supplied light fitting for the Minka-Aire F803 Distressed Koa in Amber receives some complaints due to the low level of lighting/illumination offered. They go on to say that the other models of the F803 have an Etched Opal light fitting which offers superior illumination to the standard Amber one offered with the Distressed Koa. I have inserted a link to their website where you can purchase the official Etched Opal light fitting http://www.hansenwholesale.com/model.asp?ItemID=59891

        Please note that they only sell the 110volt version, but El:ar are coming back to me today with a price for the 220 volt version. I will update you on price if you are interested.

        Regards,

        Dave

        Like

      • budgetreno
        January 21, 2015

        Hi Dave, thank you so much! Yes, please keep me posted. Although we have installed museum track lights in place of lighting (or lack of) from the fan, I don’t mind more lights to make the living room brighter than it is now.

        Regards
        Vanessa

        Like

      • David
        January 21, 2015

        Hi Vanessa,

        El:ar have quoted 165HKD for the etched opal light fitting which works out around S$28.50. I should receive my shipment next week sometime. If you wanted to borrow one of the etched opal light fittings to see if it is something you want to order, we can make a plan.

        Regards,

        Dave

        Like

      • budgetreno
        January 21, 2015

        That sounds like a reasonable price. Perhaps you can take a picture and show us how it looks like. Am sure readers will be interested too.

        Like

  3. Pingback: A Fan of the Artemis – Part 3 | budgetreno

  4. Pingback: The S$50K challenge – how much we spent | BudgetReno

  5. Terence Tang
    June 7, 2016

    Wanted to buy this Artemis 58″ fan,
    How’s the reliability?

    Like

    • budgetreno
      June 7, 2016

      We have been very happy with it. No problems so far and we use it very frequently for long hours. I would highly recommend it.

      Like

Tell me what you think of this article....

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by in Cool Stuff, Feel good, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow BudgetReno on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 371 other followers

